top of page

Seán Hewitt was born in 1990.


His debut collection of poetry, Tongues of Fire, is published by Jonathan Cape. He is a book critic for The Irish Times and teaches Modern British & Irish Literature at Trinity College Dublin.


Tongues of Fire won The Laurel Prize in 2021, and was shortlisted for The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, the John Pollard Foundation International Poetry Prize, and a Dalkey Literary Award. In 2020, he was chosen by The Sunday Times as one of their "30 under 30"  artists in Ireland.

He is also the winner of a Northern Writers' Award, the Resurgence Prize, and an Eric Gregory Award.

His book J.M. Synge: Nature, Politics, Modernism is published with Oxford University Press (2021). 


His memoir, All Down Darkness Wide, is published by Jonathan Cape in the UK and Penguin Press in the USA (2022). It was shortlisted for Biography of the Year at the An Post Irish Book Awards, for the Foyles Book of the Year in non-fiction, and for a LAMBDA award.

Hewitt was awarded the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature in 2022.

You can read a selection of interviews and features with Seán here.

Seán Hewitt
bottom of page